Oranssi Pazuzu

/Oranssi Pazuzu


Oranssi Pazuzu


Year Formed


'Oranssi Pazuzu conjures sounds from the dark corners of space and mind.'

The band was formed in 2007 by Jun-His (vocals, guitar) and Ontto (bass guitar), who started jamming with Korjak (drums), and Evill (synthesizers, organ, effects) in order to travel into uncharted musical territories. Very soon Moit (guitar) completed the lineup and Oranssi Pazuzu, The Demon of the Wind with the Colour of Cosmic Energy, was born.

During it's initial months the band wrote songs collectively, fusing together various influences from space rock to black metal, to capture different states of mental cosmos. These early songs were recorded by Sami Jormanainen in Korjak's family cabin in the late summer of 2008 and released as the group's debut album Muukalainen puhuu by Violent Journey Records in April 2009.

In 2009-2010 Oranssi Pazuzu played shows around Finland and continued to write music that twisted towards more metallic and aggressive moods. In September 2010 they played first concerts outside Finland in Germany and the Netherlands. In November asplit album with friend's band Candy Cane was released as a co-operation of two labels Firebox and Verdura Records.

Kosmonument, their second full length album, was recorded in the old cold Karhu Manor in March 2011. Candy Cane's Marko Neuman acted as an artistic advisor, while Sami Jormanainen returned to the engineering and mixing duties. A concept album about a drifter lost in the void, Kosmonument was released in October 2011 as a cd by Spinefarm Records and as a double vinyl album by Blackspin Music. Also a vinyl version of the debut Muukalainen puhuu was released in May 2011 by Svart Records.

After the release of Kosmonument, Oranssi Pazuzu played various European festivals in 2012, including Roadburn and Hellfest. They returned home satisfied, having also met Nikos Giagoudakis, who kindly decided to start as the band's manager.

Being dropped from Spinefarm label, the band decided that it was time to move forward, and returned to writing new material with a newfound enthusiasm and freedom. Agreeing to work with Jaime Gomez Arellano, a London-based producer and engineer, Oranssi Pazuzu travelled to his Orgone Studios to record their third album in February 2013. After a succesful session with Gomez, the band finalized a new record deal with their old vinyl label Svart Records and with 20 Buck Spin for the album's North American release. 

Oranssi Pazuzu's third album is called Valonielu, and it will be released on in October 2013. Produced, recorded and mixed by Jaime Gomez Arellano, it includes six songs that rank among the band's most ambitious yet, from the album opener Vino verso's trance metal to the epic finale of Ympyrä on viiva tomussa. An European tour is also planned to coincide with the album's release.