Year Formed


Yorkshire Thrashers RE-ANIMATOR managed to cruise the short-lived UK Thrash wave on the back of debut six-track mini-album, 1989's 'Deny Reality', issued through Music For Nations subsidiary Under One Flag. The group, having scored their deal with a two song demo cut at Animal Tracks Studios in Hull during March 1988, comprised lead vocalist / rhythm guitarist Kev Ingleson, guitarist Mike "Dis-Abl...e" Abel, bassist John Hanson and drummer Mark Mitchell. These tracks were laid down with a session singer, Tony Calvert of Welsh Thrashers TORTOISE CORPSE. On the live front, RE-ANIMATOR toured as support to EXODUS, ACID REIGN and NUCLEAR ASSAULT. The band was managed initially by Music For Nations owner Martin Hooker then NUCLEAR ASSAULT manager Paul Loasby. 1990's 'Condemned To Reality' bolstered their reputation but RE-ANIMATOR then undertook a severe left turn in their brand of music adopting then in vogue Funk for third album, 1991's 'Laughing'. Having gathered fans with their previous two albums, RE-ANIMATOR's liberal us of horn sections, odes to Laurel and Hardy, an unaccredited acapella stab at Monty Python's 'Always Look On The Bright Side Of Life' and even a dash of Reggae did not serve them well. Line-up changes affected the band too, with Ingleson and Abel being superseded by singer Lee Robinson and guitarist Adam Clarke, as Grahame Dixon was enrolled on rhythm guitar. The final 1992 outing 'That Was Then...This Is Now', included a cover version of THIN LIZZY's 'Cold Sweat'. A RE-ANIMATOR guitarist subsequently joined POP GODS whilst John Wilson resurfaced in Ska band BADNESS and Mark Mitchell journeyed through Punk band THE HAPPY DURALS before enrolling into a HAWKWIND covers band as "Denbo Drumwind". The CD re-issue of 'Condemned To Eternity' also added the 'Deny Reality' material