Scar of the Sun

/Scar of the Sun


Scar of the Sun




SCAR OF THE SUN is a new and rapidly upcoming modern/mainstream metal band, that through a string of important live appearances and hard work in the studio, it is trying to leave its mark to the contemporary metal scene.

The band was formed in London, UK and the current line up consists of Terry Nikas (vocals), Alexi Charalambous and Greg Eleftheriou (guitars), Panagiotis Gkatsopoulos (bass) and Thanos Pappas (drums).

After a very successful promo CD, SOTS entered the studio in order to record their debut album. The band managed to stir the interest of high-profile producer Rhys Fulber (PARADISE LOST, FEAR FACTORY, MACHINE HEAD, etc) who co-produced and mixed the album. Apart from Rhys Fulber, the band also had the honour of collaborating with Greg Reely (STRAPPING YOUNG LAD, THEATRE OF TRAGEDY, THE TEA PARTY, COLDPLAY etc.), who took over the mastering process of the album and along with Rhys Fulber created an outstanding result.

The debut album is titled "A Series Of Unfortunate Concurrencies" and contain guest appearances by Mikael Stanne (DARK TRANQUILLITY), Bob Katsionis (FIREWIND), Marios Iliopoulos (NIGHTRAGE), Chris Antoniou (SEPTIC FLESH) and Leah Randi (CONJURE ONE).

The sound of the album is multi-dimensional, blending smoothly many elements and influences, but the sound of the band can be described overall as modern atmospheric metal with lots of heaviness and drama, all funnelled through SOTS' unique style of sound.

For the promotion of the album the band shot two videos with famous director/animator/designer Achilleas Gatsopoulos, along with Bob Katsionis (FIREWIND), for the songs "Swansong of Senses" and "Disciple Of The Sun" 
After a series of very successful one off live appearances both in Greece and in Europe along bands like PAIN OF SALVATION, DARK TRANQUILLITY, PARADISE LOST, FIREWIND, KATATONIA etc and a slot on Greece's biggest summer festival 'ROCKWAVE FESTIVAL' next to SLIPKNOT, MASTODON, DOWN, and many others, SOTS signed a deal with famous Italian record label Scarlet Records, and the debut album was released worldwide in June 2011. 
The release of the album was supported by two very successful European tours within 2012, the first being Metal Firestorm tour with RAGE, TYR and COMMUNIC, and the second being Into Darkness tour, with PAIN, MOONSPELL, SWALLOW THE SUN and LAKE OF TEARS a few months later.